Wedding Flowers..

Hello ..  . it is a beautiful fall day today.. just put an apple crisp in the oven and started a pot of my favorite fall soup.. Butternut squash ( from our garden )with apples..

Just wanted to share a story with you and a couple pictures…

A few months back a good friend of mine asked me to help her daughter with the flower arrangements for her oldest daughters wedding.. I had helped with hers too..

For months we had been scouring Thrift shops for glass bowls with Silver plate rims.. together we collected 21 of them and 4 small ones .. Ashley, the brides sister used the looking glass spray paint to give them all the mercury glass look.. they came out beautiful..

Friday, her and I set up shop in one of my barns and got to work.. it took us about 8 hours to get all the arrangements done.. they were in the purple, plum and eggplant shades.. we had to do a little improvising because when we went to pick up the flower order it had not come in  ( they had somehow switched the pick up date) .. so we used purple hydrangeas , spider mums and purple tulips,instead of the daliahs, purple kale and deep purple carnations.. along with the flowers they had in stock that we had chosen to you.. the same look was achieved..( we did have to raid my husbands garden of all his kale to give it some greens )..

The wedding was beautiful and the flowers were a hit.. just goes to show you .. you can’t worry if things don’t go EXACTLY as planned.. just do your best..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The best was I brought one of the arrangements home and it looks wonderful on my coffee table.. lucky me

Have a great week.

Love and peace,

Colleen

About gardenbloom

I live in LaFayette, NY with my husband of 32years.. I have always loved decorating and began going to auctions and flea markets when I was first married .. It wasn't til my 2 sons were out of college that I made it my business.. Luckily and thankfully I have a supportive husband to help me. This is my 4th year in business and I feel like I am just getting started doing what I LOVE.. I am currently in 2 shops in the Syracuse area.. The Blushing Rose Antique shop in Fayetteville NY and the Savvy Chick Boutique in Solvay NY
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wedding Flowers..

  1. strell3 says:

    Beautiful!!! Bet the bride was happy!!

  2. Kristen Kahlke says:

    Lately I absolutely adore anything and everything purple. Your arrangements are gorgeous and what a lucky bride! xoxoxoxo Love you and miss you Aunt Colleen!

    • gardenbloom says:

      Thanks Kristen.. miss and love you all too.. wish we had been able to get together when Jeremy and Jed were home over Labor Day.. not sure when they will both be home again at the same time.. I loved this color combo too.. and I really loved doing them.. I just went to Maine, Jed and Ru bought a house .. painted their kitchen..with a PURPLE accent wall.Arunima picked it out!! looked great.. I think that is the newest HOT color!! and thanks for checking out my blog and liking THE VINTAGE ROOM on FB.. keep in touch!!

Leave a Reply

