A Year in Reflection..

As I reflect over the past year, I am a roller coaster of emotions. So many highs and lows both in my business and my personal life. I will touch lightly on the sadder points because some have forever changed my life and have given me a different outlook on life and business..

This year, in August, my very close Friend, whom I spoke to almost everyday, took her own life. I was left with such a terrible void and no explanation.. not a day has gone by since that I have not thought about her with so many mixed emotions. I will never know the WHY? so I must honor her memory with the happiness she brought to my life. The Happy times we shared. She was a constant source of inspiration, a huge support and I am proud to have called her friend. So this year I will think positive thoughts and not on the negative.. This has changed who I am and how I will live my life..  Miss you and will always love you.Image    Leslie . on.our Trip to Florida

I also, In April,  left the shop that I had been in for 5 years, the day before I was to take the final load, the shop had a fire and I lost much merchandise and also learned an important lesson .. Make sure the shop owner  has Insurance to cover your treasures or tells you that she doesn’t so you can make the choice to get your own.. Image   One of the 3 rooms I had at the shop.. the merchandise was moved into the hall and another room by the firemen.. some was able to be cleaned but the majority was lost.

Ok.. Now all, or at least some of the positive.. Where do I begin..

I did many shows this year that were  all a great success.. Syracuse Fairground in March and October;  Chartreuse  in  Maryland ( April); Outdoor Market in Brimfield,Mass ( May);  The Great American Antique Show in Liverpool,  NY ( July); and  Butternut Hill Bouckville NY ( Aug).. and some small one  day shows, one ( Oaks Corner..July),  of which my booth was featured on the cover of The New York-Pennsylvania Collector Magazine.. Aug. 2013

In June, I expanded my space at the Savvy Chick Boutique and also expanded my merchandise Line  to Include Jeanne D’ Arc.. from Denmark including  their Magazines, Clothing, Scarfs and other accessories;  a small selection of Flax Clothing and a line of Fashion accessories Including hats, scarfs, ponchos, gloves and much more and continued to work on my passion of Re Purposing.. ( I am currently working on a couple NEW items and am excited to get them in the shop by spring)..

tablet 1303

Jeanne D’ Arc: Poncho, leggings and scarf

shop. key necklaces 019Large Variety on Jeanne D Arc magazines Available

shop. key necklaces 018Christmas at the shop

On A personal note: I was very fortunate to have my son, Jeremy, who lives in California call to say he was coming to the East Coast for business and what was I doing Next Wed. (just happened to be the week after the 10 days at Bouckville.). needless to say.. I booked a flight for Orland .. met him.. we rented a car and drove the 3 hours to Visit my sister, Kathy and brother in law, Dave.. we had a wonderful 5 day visit, with many laughs and shared memories..  an unexpected and wonderful shared time..

In August we  also began renovating one of the barns to fulfill my long time dream of having Barn sales.. I held the 1st one in October and was overwhelmed with the response I got and plan to have another in late spring.. ImageImage The back of Barn

November and December were very busy months at the shop with Fall and Christmas Open Houses and Friends and Family events..september 2013 barn and shop 020 October at the shop

tablet 009 shop. key necklaces 022  Christmas at the Savvy Chick

What a wonderful year at the shop.. I want to thank all the CHICKS,  who are the most supportive group of women I have ever had the pleasure to be associated with .. lead by the owner of the shop, Cheryl, who has gone above and beyond to make the shop the success it is.. AND to all my customers, from the bottom of my heart I thank you and appreciate all the support you have given me.. some of you traveling far to attend my shows and the barn sale.. without YOU all.. my passion would have been short lived.. you make me want to work harder to bring you unique items for homes and yourselves..

I also want to thank my sister, Maureen and Joan who are always supportive .. Joan is my right hand when it comes to tools and making my jewelry.. They are always on the LOOK OUT for new ideas..

And most of all I thank my husband, Tim, for the constant support .. the crazy road trips, the endless STOPS.. the auctions.. the loading.. unloading.. driving the u-Haul.. setting up and taking down tents.. the Drop everything and drive to Bouckville because my tent was leaking and the roof filling  with BUCKETS of water.. the Endless hours spent ( not to mention money) spent to help me make my dream of “The Elegant BARN sale” come to be!! I love you and appreciate all you do for me..

On the happiest and most personal note of the whole year…. On December  30th, the tiniest, most perfect, sweetest baby boy entered this world almost a month early.. Rohan.. weighing only  4 lbs and 14 ozs  joined sister, Priya, 2 1/2 and made my son and daughter in law’s family complete..  ( along with Henry the dog and grey butt the cat.. can’t forget them)Priyas dec visit rohan and family rohan tim My husband, Tim, with tiny Rohan

In closing, I want to Wish you all the happiest year to come .. full of love, joy and success in whatever you do.. and to remind you that LIFE is precious and to make the most of everyday and never take it for granted..

Can’t wait to see what 2014 has in store for me and my family..  and what treasures I will find to share with all of you..

Hugs ..

Colleen

About gardenbloom

I live in LaFayette, NY with my husband of 32years.. I have always loved decorating and began going to auctions and flea markets when I was first married .. It wasn't til my 2 sons were out of college that I made it my business.. Luckily and thankfully I have a supportive husband to help me. This is my 4th year in business and I feel like I am just getting started doing what I LOVE.. I am currently in 2 shops in the Syracuse area.. The Blushing Rose Antique shop in Fayetteville NY and the Savvy Chick Boutique in Solvay NY
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Year in Reflection..

  1. Cindy Tuning says:

    Wishing you all the best for 2014 Colleen. You are an inspiration and I can’t wait to find more treasures from you. In looking at your pictures,I see so many similar things in my home that I have either made or have also bought. Kindred spirits!!

  2. gardenbloom says:

    Thanks so much Cindy, so happy that our paths have crossed.. look forward to seeing you in the new year! Love our passion for Vintage..

  3. strell3 says:

    Hoping 2014 is another great year with continued success you are so deserving of. You have inspired so many including myself with your passion for Vintage. Enjoy our wonderful friendship and good times shared. Lots of hugs and good wishes.

Leave a Reply

